

Town Council Meeting Minutes Tuesday, December 4, 2018 7:00 p.m. Caledon East Community Complex

> Mayor A. Thompson Councillor N. deBoer Councillor J. Downey Councillor C. Early Councillor A. Groves Councillor J. Innis Councillor L. Kiernan Councillor T. Rosa Councillor I. Sinclair

Chief Administrative Officer: M. Galloway Manager, Legislative and Information Services/Interim Town Clerk: A. Fusco General Manager, Strategic Initiatives: D. Arbuckle Interim General Manager, Corporate Services/Deputy Clerk: L. Hall Treasurer: H. Haire Coordinator, Council Committee: J. Lavecchia Coordinator, Council Committee: E. Robert General Manager, Community Services: P. Tollett General Manager, Finance and Infrastructure Services: F. Wong

# PROCESSION OF COUNCIL ELECT

Mayor Elect A. Thompson and the Councillors-Elect were piped to their seats at 7:08 p.m.

Gabe DeNardis, a music student from Mayfield Secondary School, led those in attendance in the singing of O Canada.

## CALL TO ORDER

Interim Town Clerk A. Fusco called the Inaugural Meeting of Council to order at 7:12 p.m.

Pastor Bryan Fox provided the opening prayer.

## DISCLOSURE OF PECUNIARY INTEREST - none.

## **DECLARATION OF OFFICE**

Justice of the Peace Carty administered the declaration of office to Mayor-Elect Allan Thompson and placed the Chain of Office on the Mayor.

Justice of the Peace Carty administered the declaration of office for the Councillors-Elect.

#### **SELECTION OF CHAIR AND VICE CHAIR**

Moved by Councillor Downey – Seconded by Councillor Kiernan 2018-125

That Councillor J. Innis be appointed as Chair of General Committee for the 2018-2022 term of Council; and

That Councillor C. Early be appointed as Vice-Chair of General Committee for the 2018-2022 term of Council.

Carried.

2018-126

#### Moved by Councillor Sinclair – Seconded by CouncillorInnis

That Councillor N. deBoer be appointed as Chair of Planning and Development Committee for the 2018-2022 term of Council; and

That Councillor L. Kiernan be appointed as Vice-Chair of Planning and Development Committee for the 2018-2022 term of Council.

#### DEDICATORY ADDRESS

Dr. Lance Secretan provided a dedicatory address to the assembly.

Carried.

## INAUGURAL ADDRESS

Mayor A. Thompson delivered his Inaugural address to the assembly. Mayor Thompson welcomed those in attendance and outlined his priorities for the 2018-2022 term.

## ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF FORMER MAYORS

Mayor Thompson acknowledged former Mayors Emil Kolb, Carol Seglins and Marolyn Morrison.

## **INTRODUCTION OF SPECIAL GUESTS**

Mayor Thompson introduced special guests and thanked his family and friends for their support throughout the election campaign. Members of Council thanked their family and friends for their support and provided comments on the upcoming term of Council.

# **BY-LAWS**

Moved by Councillor N. deBoer – Seconded by Councillor J. Innis

2018-127

That the following by-law be read a first time and passed:

BL-2018-76 A by-law to confirm the proceedings of the Council for the Corporation of the Town of Caledon at its Council Meeting held on the 4th day of December 2018

Carried.

## ADJOURNMENT

On the motion moved by Councillor Sinclair, Council adjourned at 7:59 p.m.

Allan Thompson, Mayor

Amanda Fusco, Interim Town Clerk